Photo editor uploads breaking news video from the field

By CATHERINE AVALONE, The Middletown Press (@cavaloneMP)

I was sent out on a breaking news assignment to Devil’s Hopyard State Park in East Haddam at 11:30 p.m. from home. Devil’s Hopyard is about 40 minutes from my house, and although I know my way around that area in daylight, darkness is completely different.

When I arrived, I located a few fire trucks and I asked them where the media staging area was. The firefighter told me there wasn’t any media on site, but gave me the location of the staging area for the fire departments. Driving there, I saw Channel 3 driving around. I found the staging area and approached the firefighters cautiously.

At first, I shot video from my car, then after a few clips, I made my way out to talk to a few firefighters. My initial contact was with a couple of DEEP firefighters. They were great! They spoke to the East Haddam Fire Chief Don Angersola. He gave me clearance to roam around freely and considering it was very dark, I was able to give viewers a glimpse of the scene. After about an hour, he spoke to me on video.

To get the video up on the website, I had to drive to another area to get online via AT&T wireless card. Viktoria asked for a raw clip for the website, which I gave to her immediately through Dropbox.

From 1:30 until 2:30 a.m. I created a video in iMovie with a voiceover. It was my first video created completely mobile from my car, and I uploaded it into Syndicaster from location.

During numerous conversations with my editor, I also provided quotes and information from the scene to piece together a breaking news story.

This entry was posted in Cathy Avalone and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

